Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Midwest Trust Center Series 2020-2021 > Opus 76: Family Fun (3/18/2021 7:00 PM)
Johnson County Community College

Johnson County Community College - Series | Performing Arts Ticketing

If you are a student or faculty/staff, please login before continuing. This will allow you to access any ticketing benefits that you are entitled to.

This Event is in the past and is no longer available for sale.

Opus 76: Family Fun

Midwest Trust Center Series 2020-2021
Virtual Event
Thursday, Mar 18, 2021 at 7:00 PM (CT) to Thursday, Mar 18, 2021 at 10:00 PM (CT)

The concert has been postponed.

The Carlsen Center and Opus 76 Quartet will present a new virtual chamber music series, Eat, Drink, and Play! These fun “date night in” concerts will be approx. one hour in length and will feature both lively performances as well as engaging programming including cameos from some beloved KC chefs offering unique wine pairings to accompany the performance and more. Concert portions will be filmed in Yardley Hall.

1- “The Goldilocks Quartet” – by Leia Barrett

Featuring music by J.S. Bach, Vivaldi, Johann Strauss I, Ravel, Debussy, W.A. Mozart, Dvorak.

The Goldilocks Quartet
, written for string quartet and narrator, is a charming re-telling of the classic tale, Goldilocks and the Three Bears. This musical twist introduces children to the string family. (Duration: 25 Minutes)  Learn more on the web

2- American Quartet, or String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96, by Bohemian composer Antonín Dvorák. Written during the composer’s residency in the United States, it premiered on January 1, 1894, in Boston. Although he quotes no actual American melodies, in his American Quartet Dvorák set out to capture the spirit of American music in his work’s melodic flow and harmonic construction. It is the most frequently performed of Dvorák’s many chamber works.

Movement 1 will be performed by the Sunrisers (Opus 76’s youth quartet). Movement IV will be performed By Opus 76 Quartet. (Duration: Movement 1 - 7:25, Movement 4 - 5:05)

The sonata-form first movement opens with violin trills and a lyrical viola solo, which soon reappears in the violin. At one time or another, each member of the ensemble is granted time in the spotlight. The two main melodies draw on pentatonic (five note per octave) scales, which are often found in American folk music, though they also are found in the music of other lands.

Dvorák’s final movement is lively and exuberant, especially for the first violin. For contrast, there is an almost hymn-like tune that appears midway through the movement. However, Dvorák brings the movement full circle with a resumption of the exuberant theme from its opening section, and the work concludes with energy.

A YouTube link will be sent to ticket buyers in a separate email. The concert will then be available on demand through 3/18/2021.


Share Via

Ticket Options

Opus 76

Online ticket sales ended on 3/16/2020 at 12:00 AM (CT)